Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Okay.  A very long time ago, like way back in August which is eons in the blogosphere, my blog buddy Citizen Tom bestowed a “Very Inspiring Blogger” award upon me.

I was humbly grateful, and bookmarked that post for future action.  Then I procrastinated.

Then the election came and went, in a most disappointing fashion.

I took a little break.

What better way to get back into the swing of things, then by making good on old commitments?

So, without further ado, here is the fulfillment of my Inspiring Blogger obligations:

1.  Display the award logo:

2.  Link back to the person who nominated.

3.  State 7 things about myself.  Okay, but since I’m already using numbers, I better move to the letter system:

a) I coulda sworn this award originally required a list of my seven favorite Bible passages.  Upon clicking upon the bookmarked post, however, I see only a requirement to list seven things about myself.  Weird.  Did I remember wrong, or did something change?

b) I’m really glad I don’t need to list seven Bible passages.  I may be a Christian, but I’m no Bibletician nor God-ologian.  A foolish childhood decision to attend a friend’s “Vacation Bible School” (I can think of something crucially wrong with that label, my friend), a few haphazard appearances at my newly-born-again-and-possibly-body-snatched-parents’ church, along with two distracted years at a Baptist College, where I learned that dances should be called “foot functions” because dancing is bad, do not a religious expert make.

c) Here’s my seven passages anyway, because I looked them up before I realized I didn’t have to.  They are not really my all-time favorites, since I’ve really only studied the “Big Four,” as far as the Bible goes, and the rest is pretty much hit or miss.  Also, that was self-study, so I’m not exactly operating from a position of authority here, other than that Holy Spirit guidance and authority, isn’t that in the back of the Bible somewhere?  Anyway, now I better use bullets:

  • Matthew 6:25-34 Do Not Worry:  easier said than done, but still worth trying.
  • Matthew 8:5-13 Jesus Heals a Centurion’s Servant:  this is a favorite because “he who lives by the sword dies by the sword” makes Jesus sound like a pacifist; yet, He was happy to oblige a soldier’s prayer without requiring the soldier lay down his sword.
  • Matthew 19:1-10 Marriage and Divorce.  A man leaves his father and mother and is joined to his wife and the two become one flesh.  The best part?  When Jesus says how rare divorce should be, the disciples say, if that’s how it is, it’s better not to marry at all.  Ha!  I knew that marriage was hard!
  • Mark 14:36 Prayer in the Garden.  Jesus asked God to “Take this cup away from Me; nevertheless, not what I will, but what You will.”  This might seem weird, but the fact that Jesus Himself prayed for something He did not receive is of enormous comfort.
  • John 16:33 Overcoming the world.  I wrote about this one recently.
  • Acts 5:37-32 Obey God rather than obeying men.  Today, we are again at the point where government forces folks to pick between these two options.
  • 1 John 3:18:  “My little children, let us not love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in truth.”  Needed wisdom for a lady who hopes her actions speak louder than words.

d) I completely agree with Citizen Tom’s statement that religion is inseparable from politics.  At this point in American culture, if you are pro-life and a believer in religious liberty, then the Democratic Party is not the place for you.  Also, the Democratic Party is not your friend if you believe you have a right to your own private property.  (Psst:  that makes you a dirty capitalist!)

e) I believe that the results of the 2012 election indicate that we will have to suffer, as a nation, before we can get on the right track again.  I dare not predict the form of this hardship, and I hope for as much alleviation as possible.  Still, I can’t see any other long-term outcome.

f) I’m more at peace with the results of the 2012 election than I ever could have imagined.

g) I don’t forward stuff much.

Whoo.  This post is longer than I thought it would be.  Thankfully, we’ve made it to the final rule of the Blogger Award:

4.  Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.

Ah, nope.  Sorry.  See reference 3g).  I just don’t feel like it.  Not even when it’s those chain messages, and a puppy dies if you don’t.  I know, I know, I’m missing the point of this exercise.  Except I’m not.  I appreciate the recognition, and the wisdom from the likes of Citizen Tom.

The best to all of you dear readers and fellow bloggers.  We’ve got an interesting few years ahead of us.

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. heathermc 20 November 2012 at 2:57 pm Reply

    Point “e” is so true. Thanks for your update by the way!

  2. Conservatives on Fire 20 November 2012 at 3:36 pm Reply

    You did good! It is true that it is never too late!

  3. [...] We should give some shout-outs to NoOneOfAnyImport, who just won an award. [...]

  4. [...] NoOneOfAnyImport: Very Inspiring Blogger Award [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 658 other followers

