If Revenge is a Winning Campaign Platform

. . . then we are losing the culture war far worse than I realized.

I see a lot of “we’ll keep fighting” tweets on my Twitter feed.  Lovely sentiments from tireless patriots.

Many conservative civilians see the 2012 election as just another battle in the never-ending political war.  They are moving on, setting their sights on the bigger picture.  I am grateful for that tenacity, for their imperviousness to the affects of this defeat.

I don’t share the sentiment though.

I am Milspouse.  The president is my husband’s boss.

This election, and every election, effects us all, yes.  Very yes.  The military is exhibit numero uno, and I’m not even talking about the budgetary effects (hello sequestration).  I’m talking about the effect on morale.

The effect is huge–beyond description, which is saying a lot for a gal who loves describing things.  I’ve seen it firsthand, the way morale swings on a dime–well, really on a change-of-command ceremony.

This effect on morale translates into a very immediate change for the NoOne family.  Today, we go from “maybe you can stay in for the long haul and shoot for that extra promotion” to “maybe you can get to the bare minimum and punch out.”

Maybe Hubs can get to the bare minimum–if his conscience, political correctness, and budget cuts don’t interfere.

Maybe.

Even if he does, will the federal government be solvent enough to make good on the retirement benefits it promised?

I dunno.

In the meantime, all I can think about are the years when we didn’t establish roots.  We didn’t become part of a community.  We didn’t help a church grow.  We didn’t make improvements on real estate.  We didn’t learn how to grow a garden and preserve the fruits.  We didn’t protect our interests.  We put the nation’s interest before our own.

How much longer can we do that?  I sure can’t keep fighting for the big picture after Obama’s reelection.  The smaller picture–my family’s future–is weightier.  My posts will probably reflect this shift in priorities.

The establishment of roots.  Preservation and protection of assets.  Education of my children.  These are the priorities now.  The fair citizens of Idiocracy can water their crops with sports drinks, for all I care.

A hiatus is probably in order.

I’m not quitting.

Just refocusing.

Best wishes and prayers for all my readers.

Tagged:

11 thoughts on “If Revenge is a Winning Campaign Platform

  1. DarcsFalcon 7 November 2012 at 2:02 am Reply

    I know how you feel.

  2. AHLondon (@AHLondon_Tex) 7 November 2012 at 9:51 am Reply

    Working on a plan now. Kinda counterintuitive. (Will prob post at Ricochet because it is a Right audience kind of thing.) We are going to need to let them reap what they sow on policy, but that will hit families like you hard. When I talk about the need to help our own, I’ll be thinking specifically of you. Your instincts about what to do are spot on and know that I, and probably many others, will help you establish roots and get through the lean times that will come. I’m one email away. And Texas has plenty of room for roots.

  3. Freedom, by the way 7 November 2012 at 10:54 am Reply

    It certainly changes the hopes and dreams of many American families, including my own. Priorities changing–you betcha! It’s a hard pill to swallow when so many Americans choose to throw all of us under the bus.
    My hubby works as a civilian at a military installation. The up-shot is unknown but we are certainly not as positive about the future as we were before last night.
    God Bless you and your family. And thank you for your service, esp. during this uncertain times.

    • nooneofanyimport 7 November 2012 at 10:55 am Reply

      God bless you too, Freedom! Thank you for everything you’ve done for this country too. You’ve done more than you know.

  4. Planet Moron 7 November 2012 at 4:20 pm Reply

    Welcome to my world, glad you could make it. I’ll put some coffee on. We have a lot to go over.

    First, we’re going to have to do something about this selfless devotion to others thing you’ve had going on. That has just GOT to go. After that we’ll do a unit on cynicism. And yes, there will be quizzes. (Sample Question: If you were to place everyone you know in two groups, one made up of people you have faith in, and one you don’t, how many people would be in the first group? It’s a trick question. You should never have faith in anyone.)

    It will be like when you homeschool your kids, only with gin.

    Okay, it will be exactly like when you homeschool your kids.

  5. Teresa Rice 7 November 2012 at 4:42 pm Reply
  6. nooneofanyimport 7 November 2012 at 5:36 pm Reply

    Thanks for all the support, Dars, Teresa, Jon, Freedom, Leslie.

    lol Jon you would not like to have me as your student. Try as I might to master it, I flunk the cynism final every time. I’m as gullible as they come.

    And how did you know my homeschooling lessons were fueled by gin?

    Weird how blessed I feel today.

  7. heathermc 9 November 2012 at 6:03 pm Reply

    you’ve been taking the right road this past year by homeschooling your kids. My opinion? You and your husband should not depend upon a ‘pension’… that money is tied up in the ‘debt’ that is terrifying all of us (except the Dems. of course.) You are young, you have kids (the BEST way to connect into any community), being in the Army has trained your husband in unexpected ways that are very success oriented (which he will discover as soon as you all get settled in your new life). It’s a change, but you all can handle it!

    • nooneofanyimport 10 November 2012 at 7:27 pm Reply

      aw, thanks, heather for the kind words. afraid I was writing in the heat of the moment on this post, just as I learned the results of the election. I know things will be fine in the long run. it’s just hard to re-adjust expections sometimes.

  8. [...] Maybe. (from here) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 658 other followers

