For Some Reason I’m Smiling Now

I think it’s because I have a truly twisted sense of humor, and I heard this song in the van:

Then I read some of my blog buddies.  Some were gutted, some were more resigned, and some were mercifully zen about the whole thing.  All helped me get my own emotional response under control.

I liked what Jim Fister said most of all:

What the heck, it’s all God’s will, and I’m saved through the Lord, Jesus Christ.  I can’t forget that.

So, yeah.  Times like this, faith sure comes in handy.

Do me some favors folks.  Don’t get mad about my poor taste in humor.  Or at least don’t tell me if you do get mad.  Whistling in the dark is just one of my natural defense mechanisms.

Also, please click over and visit all the bloggers I’ve linked here, and comment on their posts.  We could all use a little company, a little extra cheer today.

16 thoughts on “For Some Reason I’m Smiling Now

  1. Jim Fister 7 November 2012 at 11:21 am Reply

    I’m cheery. The sun is shining, which is rare for the Pacific NW in November. Maybe I can take today’s run past the precious metals place…

    Thanks for the link by the way.

  2. ladyliberty1885 7 November 2012 at 11:24 am Reply

    I needed this. Thanks man!

  3. Conservatives on Fire 7 November 2012 at 1:36 pm Reply

    Heh! I feel pity for the poor creature in the the video. She does not know any better.

    Most of us had to let off some stem this morning. Although I can forgive the ignorat youg woman in the video, I can not forgive the majority of my fellow Americans who voted to give Obama four more years. They should have known better. having said that, laughter is far more useful than crying. thanks for the laugh!

  4. 5etester 7 November 2012 at 5:16 pm Reply

    Wow! What an irritating song. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Evie Garone 7 November 2012 at 5:30 pm Reply

    Wow that video is riveting…….I couldn’t look away… I am just glad the election is over! You can’t change people they must choose to change at their own speed though we can only hope the future 4 yrs. won’t be as bad as the last 4, it’s a shame Romney honestly wasn’t given a chance to show us what he’s got to share! Thanks for the laugh!

  6. ShortTimer 7 November 2012 at 6:46 pm Reply

    I just got informed that everybody in my job is being hit with about a 25% pay cut across the board, myself obviously included. I’ve been hunkering down for the last 4 years expecting a storm, but it sucks nonetheless.

    The handouts don’t make me laugh much, as they’re entitlement spending that’s been made mandatory and can’t be cut. Well, those folks who work in legitimate functions of government as outlined by the Constitution are those who are getting pay cuts… in the neighborhood of 25%.

    Austerity under this president is cutting legitimate functions that he dislikes due to ideology, while saving Obama phones.

    My coworkers with kids, wives, husbands, parents, and dependents are going to really be taking a major hit.

    I’d rather laugh at how true the Brain Gremlin’s financial advice was back in 1990.

  7. edge of the sandbox 8 November 2012 at 1:06 am Reply

    Minority got Obamaphone… and ladyparts got a box of tampons. I pledge to popularize the term “ladyparts” in reference to a certain Democratic voter.

    • nooneofanyimport 8 November 2012 at 8:39 am Reply

      that is a good idea. I believe the label would take quite easily.

  8. Bob 8 November 2012 at 1:06 pm Reply

    Obama: the reason stupid people shouldn’t vote.

  9. [...] under Obamacare.  On related note, check out “Minority Got Obama Phone” video at Linda’s.  I continue being amazed by small time greed of [...]

  10. AFVET 9 November 2012 at 4:00 pm Reply

    There is a remedy for ignorance, butt stupid is terminal.
    The last election demonstrated this.
    Linda,…votingamerican has a great post up pertaining to Veterans Day.
    You may desire to clean your brain out with a little Patriotic dissertation on our troops.
    Hope you and yours are doing well.

    Cheers !

  11. [...] For Some Reason I’m Smiling Now [...]

  12. [...] NoOneOfAnyImport: For Some Reason I’m Smiling Now [...]

  13. Citizen Tom 12 November 2012 at 9:34 am Reply

    Reblogged this on Citizen Tom and commented:
    The centerpiece of nooneofanyimport is a clever and very funny video, “Minority Got Obama Phone.” There various ways to become famous or infamous. “Minority Got Obama Phone” illustrates one best avoided.

    If and when you smile at the video, please consider a few quotes.

    “There, but for the grace of God, go I.” — attributed to John Bradford
    “Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same, or one day we will spend our sunset years telling our children and our children’s children what it was once like in the United States where men were free.” — Ronald Reagan (from here)

    Someone went to a lot trouble to produce “Minority Got Obama Phone.” Was it all for laughs product advertising? Perhaps, but I suspect not. I suspect there is more to the ridicule. I suspect there is this fear, the star of “Minority Got Obama Phone” is a harbinger of the generations we will leave behind.

  14. [...] For Some Reason I’m Smiling Now [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 658 other followers

