John 16:33

“In the world you shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

But . . . the world has gone mad.  Especially the Democrats.

“I have overcome the world.”

The whole world?

“Yes, when one refers to the world one generally means the whole world.”

Well . . . okay then.

All us Tea Party patriots could use a little extra cheer right now, that’s for sure and certain.  Any major election is stressful for the civic-minded sort, but this ain’t just some run-of-the-mill major election.

We are no longer confident in our great nation’s ability to survive, let alone thrive.  For four years, we have fought without furlough in the trenches of a culture war.  Some of you have fought much longer, and I thank you.  If more of us had joined the fight sooner, things might not have gotten so grim.

Shoulda woulda coulda.  Here we are, and here I am, attempting to bring good cheer–which, by the way, is not in my nature.  I’m mostly predisposed to skeptical pessimism.  (Or pessimistic skepticism, depending on my mood.)

Anyways.  Good cheer.

Right.

I’ll make a list.

1) My dog is feeling much better.  Remember when I posted about Sussie’s severe moving anxiety?  I promised a final installment to the Trauma Saga, but alas.  She is now only a footnote.  Long story short, we had to drug the poor critter.  Did you know that dogs can take Xanax?  It merely changed her distressed barking from a frantic yelp into more of a sad hound serenade.  Still, the vet gave lots of good advice about desensitizing her to separation, and once we got our stuff delivered to our new house, Sussie was like, hey.  We’re home.  I can stop freaking out.

2) I’m officially on the band wagon.  You know, the wagon that we must use to haul Romney across the finish line.  As of today, I’ve got Romney/Ryan in my yard, on my minivan bumper, and plenty of extras to share with like-minded neighbors and homeschoolers.  I even signed up for the phone bank.   Mr. Belvedere is absolutely right on this point:  we shoulda woulda coulda got a better candidate, but we didn’t, and we gotta do what it takes to get Barack Obama voted out.  If we succeed, our work sure ain’t over, but at least we’ll have a chance to keep federal encroachment at bay.

3) Encouraging first hand accounts of conservative momentum have surfaced!  Mr. Saddleburr found a glimmer of hope when he knocked on some doors, and Insty readers have shared similar experiences.

4) Via Disrupt the Narrative and Be Sure You’re Right comes a website called Unskewed Polls.  When the polls aren’t skewed, they don’t look so bad anymore.  It’s like the Dems having to take off their beer goggles or something.

5) Obama for America’s blog posts are getting very few shares and likes.  Seriously, scroll down the women’s section of the leftist ghost town, and see for yourself how unviral is the President’s reelection campaign.

6) The ObamaFoodorama blog site has gone private.  Actually, I’m not sure whether this is good news, but I wanted to bring it up because I’ve linked to this Blogger site a few times, and those links won’t work anymore.  Annoying.  And intriguing.  The twitter account still says the blog is the “official blog of record & archive of White House food initiatives.”  Why did something official become private?

7) 41 million Tea Party members are preparing to vote.  That’s 31% of likely voters.  Yyyeaahh.  Turns out, that radical extreme right-wing thang might just be more mainstream than Maher’s worst nightmare.

8) The Coffee Party is still around to mock!  Because their movement is still so relevant and vibrant!  Or not.  I used zip codes from Tampa, Washington DC, Los Angeles, and New York City, but I couldn’t find a single scheduled event with their handy-dandy “event finder.”  Perhaps you’ll have more luck than me.

9) 110 days until Barack Obama leaves office.  And counting.

And finally, without further ado, item #10 in my list of good cheer:

10) Strong Bad is funny.  Really.  Watch.  If it’s not funny, then you must be viewing these videos without the company of a 10-year-old boy.  If you had a 10-year-old boy with you, then your sides would be splitting.

update:  changed ghetto to ghost town bc it makes more sense, if nobody’s there

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “John 16:33

  1. DarcsFalcon 1 October 2012 at 10:59 pm Reply

    Yep, the 10 y/o boy is definitely a prerequisite! LOL Fortunately, I happen to have one handy.

    Keep up the good cheer. :)

  2. DarcsFalcon 1 October 2012 at 11:00 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Political Ness and commented:
    Keeping up the good cheer! A great list. :)

  3. edge of the sandbox 2 October 2012 at 12:58 am Reply

    Oh, there is not a single Coffee party event within 200 miles from my Bay Area town, but I can host my own. We were wrong. Coffee Party really are middle of the road kind of people, and not deep blue Bay Area types we suspected they are…

  4. Teresa Rice 2 October 2012 at 7:06 am Reply

    I didn’t view Strong Bad with a 10 – year old boy and I thought most of it was funny. God Bless.

  5. Rose 6 October 2012 at 5:11 pm Reply

    Good photos, Lin! So glad you and the family got to go.

  6. Freedom, by the way 6 October 2012 at 8:13 pm Reply

    I never visited the Obamafoodrama but can only imagine that the comments from the right shut it down. Either that or the bad news about how much “healthy” food is going into the garbage at schools, now. My son’s friend was telling us today about how the HS replaced fries with awful-tasting sweet potatoe tots. (my son always brings his lunch). I guess if enough kids are complaining to mom & dad about the crappy “healthy” lunches, it’s not good for re-election.

    So glad pooch is feeling more peppy :)

    I started watching the video, but decided I better wait for my son to get the full effect. He’s not 10 but he’s into silly videos.

    • nooneofanyimport 6 October 2012 at 10:11 pm Reply

      Hey Freedom, isn’t it crazy the way bureaucrats in a federal agency can reach out and change the eating habits of the nation’s children? Something tells me that this micromanagement will do little to alleviate that obsesity problem used as an excuse for this intrusion. It’s great for getting the young ‘uns used to taking . . . dictation . . . about their daily lives and habits, though, innit?

      Lemme know what you and yours think of Strong Bad once you’ve seen the vid. I didn’t know what to make of it at first. Incessant giggles from all the dudes in this house won me over, though.

      best to you!

  7. bruce 14 October 2012 at 8:38 pm Reply

    Well Mitt has certainly made a comeback.

    Whoever wins I hope that they focus on finding what will: Add jobs and raising all boats; keep us out of yet another war.

    People will differ on how to establish those things, but maybe we can all agree on some broad goals.

  8. […] John 16:33 Overcoming the world.  I wrote about this one recently. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 657 other followers

