I’m A Totally Selfless Volunteer

So I ended up having a great day watching Citizen United movies and brushing elbows with big wigs (oh, okay, mostly college Republicans) at Liberty Plaza outside the RNC today.

Life is weird.  One minute I’m burning precious sleep hours by researching Occupy plans for the RNC, in order to decide whether a trip downtown is actually worth the trouble, and also to put off actually pressing chores like hanging pictures on the wall or paying bills.

Then the next minute, while obsessively scrolling the painfully boring and yet strangely compelling comment strings on yet another Occupy Facebook page, I come upon a gaggle of gleeful goofballs who seem mostly harmless, but yet clearly intend to “occupy” and potentially disrupt Citizen United’s scheduled showing of “Occupy Unmasked.”

Don’t bother clicking on that Occupy link above; that page went straight down the memory hole a day later. (I wonder why?)  Yay for screen caps!

The useful idiots got really fired up during this comment string,  snarfing up tickets and making big plans to humiliate the heck out of those hateful haters who hate the love Occupiers want to share.  Here’s a mere sample:

Sharing love . . . effing with them . . . giving hell . . . whatever.

Later in the string, the Occupiers noticed that perhaps they were being noticed:

Part of me dismissed the string, thinking:  Citizens United has already changed the online ticketing procedure.  They must already know about this little Facebook pow-wow.

But then, maybe they just saw the giant spike in ticket requests, and rightly questioned it.  Maybe they don’t know where it’s coming from.  So I saved the screen shots and sent the info to a Citizens United contact email.

Next thing I know, I’m volunteering to help Citizens United show movies at Liberty Plaza.  A week later, my husband is dropping me off, security guards are annoyed by my lack of credentials, but the Citizen United folks at the gate are like, Linda from the email?  Come on in.

Honestly, I was only slightly helpful during the event, being nothing more than an interloper with no knowledge of standard operating procedure.  Still, I answered a question or two, and also managed to be a warm body manning a table.  Yay me!

The first movie was Rendezvous With Destiny, a documentary of Ronald Reagan.  It was fantastic.  I couldn’t help comparing Reagan with Obama.  Totally diametric, of course:  a city on a hill, versus everyone thinks they are exceptional, which means that no one is really exceptional.

Newt and Callista Gingrich themselves came to introduce the Reagan movie:

It was kinda weird, sitting so close to a figure I’ve seen and heard so many times in the news.  Later, while I bravely accomplished the task of being a warm body at the entrance gate, I heard some fedora-wearing fellow stating that he was Robert Stacy McCain.  Aha!  My warm body task proves fruitful!

I got to shake his hand!  And also be a deer in headlights!  Because meeting this blogger was way more impressive than seeing Newt Gingrich.

I’m sorry to hear that the RNC gig has been so painful to Mr. McCain, as well as others.  It’s been pretty dang sweet to the likes of me.  I know that security seems over-the-top, but the thing is.  To me, the crazy-thick police presence is a comfort.  They may not be uniformly cheerful, but their uniform is reassuring.

Reassurance is needed when folks like the Black Panthers and Black Bloc have made clear their RNC fantasies.  When leftist protests fall short of expectations, well I can’t help but wonder.  Did the over-the-top display of strength help keep them away?

Well, that and Hurricane Isaac.

I’ll be helping Citizens United again tomorrow.  This act is totally selfless, by the way.  It has nothing to do with my desire to witness political history, nor to watch good movies for free, nor to get free food and beer, nor to shake hands with politicians and bloggers.

Totally selfless.

Tagged: , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “I’m A Totally Selfless Volunteer

  1. heathermc 28 August 2012 at 10:05 pm Reply

    cspan as the full convention. Truly, Mrs. Romney made a GREAT speech, and then Chris Christie delivered a stemwinder to end stemwinders!

  2. neenergyobserver 28 August 2012 at 10:08 pm Reply

    Lucky Lin, Have fun.

  3. VincentMVNY 28 August 2012 at 10:54 pm Reply

    I thought that Christie was too rough and unpolished to be Romney’s VP candidate. Then when he chose Ryan I was sure Ryan was the right match for Romney’s style plus being young, a numbers and finance wonk, etc. Tonight when I heard Christie’s speech and his Second American Century theme and the way he put the ‘shared pain’ argument forward, I had second thoughts. So now the pressure is on Ryan to win me back. What did you think of Christie?
    Ann Romney was magnificent. Her speech was perfectly attuned to the female audience, from her heart to theirs, and mine too.

    • nooneofanyimport 29 August 2012 at 7:33 am Reply

      Christie was good but not as good as his zingers when he is sparring with adversarial questions, you know? I’ve been quite happy with the Ryan pick and expect him to wow me just like Ann Romney did. She was indeed the shining star of the evening. With Mia Love in second place.

      I also found all the real, everyday small businessmen and women so compelling. Obama basically handed Romney the Best Slogan Ever, when he accidentally betrayed his true Marxist feelings during that “didn’t build that” speech.

      Cheers!

      • VincentMVNY 30 August 2012 at 11:40 am Reply

        Re. the “didn’t build that” remark
        Obama’s diary entry that fateful day,
        “1. Note to self, stick with what you’re told to read on the teleprompter. NEVER ad lib!
        2. Each day start out by reading out load 30 times into a mirror the following Alinsky Rule:
        “It should be remembered that you can threaten the enemy and get away with it. You can insult and annoy him, but the one thing that is unforgivable and that is certain to get him to react is to laugh at him. This causes irrational anger.”

  4. ladyliberty1885 29 August 2012 at 8:37 am Reply

    GOOD JOB! One of my mottos: Screenshots are forever.

  5. Conservatives on Fire 29 August 2012 at 12:46 pm Reply

    Ah ha! So your nome de plume is as wrong as I knew. You are someone important. :-)

    You are going to have to educate me on how to take a screen shot. That could be valuable to know how to do.

    • nooneofanyimport 29 August 2012 at 4:04 pm Reply

      There are probably better ways to do it, but the only way I know how is with the Snipping Tool, which, in my laptop is in the following location:

      C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Accessories.

      You click and drag the cursor over the area you wish to capture, Once you release the cursor, after a pause the image pops up, and you have the option to save it as a jpg. Hope this helps!

  6. […] I’m A Totally Selfless Volunteer […]

  7. thatmrgguy 30 August 2012 at 3:05 pm Reply

    You can also use a program called…Fireshot to take screen shots.

  8. Freedom, by the way 31 August 2012 at 7:41 am Reply

    Yay for you! Another wonderful benefit of your recent move to FL–you got to be in the middle of the action at the RNC. Thanks for the report!

  9. AHLondon (@AHLondon_Tex) 1 September 2012 at 10:23 pm Reply

    Well done, my friend.

  10. KingShamus 2 September 2012 at 8:23 am Reply

    Your selflessness is working out remarkably well for you. ;-p

    Seriously, this sounds and looks rad Lin.

  11. […] How an ordinary blogger noticed leftists’ plans to disrupt part of the RNC, and alerted them, … I come upon a gaggle of gleeful goofballs who seem mostly harmless, but yet clearly intend to “occupy” and potentially disrupt Citizen United’s scheduled showing of “Occupy Unmasked.” […]

  12. Citizen Tom 7 September 2012 at 10:21 pm Reply

    Glad to see you are having fun. Good time for a blogger to be in FL.

  13. […] I’m A Totally Selfless Volunteer from NooneOfAnyImport’s Blog: Linda tells us about her work as a volunteer for Citizens United. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers

