Worst Cover Song EVAH Contest

We signed a lease for a new place!  One catch:  it’s not ready until the beginning of August.  The gypsy life continues.

But don’t feel sorry for us.  Entirely too-gracious family members have taken us in.  (Maybe feel sorry for them.)

In the meantime, errands and paperwork abound.  Go to medical to get the Tricare Region transferred . . . check.  But you can’t do dental here.  You’ll have to call this number.  And you can’t request transfer of medical records today, because you aren’t in the system yet.  You’ll have to come back.  Rinse, repeat, et cetera, ad nauseam, for every single aspect of life.

I’m not complaining.  Really!  Just . . . explaining.  You know, why I haven’t been essaying about politics.  (The upholding of Obamacare took the wind out of my sails, too.)

Hopefully, the boys’ school situation will be sorted soon.  And the to-do list will shorten.  In the meantime:  contest!  I’ll not do one of those fancy poll thingies, as that requires more steps and I am currently both lazy and tired.  So just leave your vote in the comment section.

Now, when I casually declared Gwen Stefani’s “It’s My Life” the Worse Cover Ever, clearly I spoke too soon.  Because, wow.  Y’all brought some serious competition into the mix.  Here they are, in no particular order.  Late submissions are fine; just add it in a comment.

I’m not sure how long I’ll let the contest run.  Probably until I actually have something useful to add to the blogosphere.  Which could be awhile.

And no, the Talk Talk cover didn’t even make the cut.  Seriously, I’ve been humbled and awed by the disturbing array of wrongness which you readers have brought forth.  I’m not even sure which one I’d choose.

Concluding confession:  I kinda liked Celine Dion’s cheesy rendition of AC/DC.  I’m not even a Celine Dion fan, so it’s hard to explain why.  Maybe because she is the best singer in the world.  Maybe because it was Vegas.  Maybe because Anastacia sang too.

Don’t judge me.

Tagged: ,

22 thoughts on “Worst Cover Song EVAH Contest

  1. roxannadanna 9 July 2012 at 9:49 pm Reply

    What is that really stupid song? If you like pina colatas????

    • AHLondon (@AHLondon_Tex) 10 July 2012 at 6:10 pm Reply

      No that is a fab song! Even if it is about attempting adultery.

      • Keith DeHavelle 10 July 2012 at 8:36 pm Reply

        The same fellow wrote a very catchy song that was quite popular in 1971 … about cannibalism. It’s called “Timothy” (performed by The Byrds, as I recall).

        ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

      • roxannadanna 11 July 2012 at 5:38 am Reply

        Okay… well whatever.

    • ladyliberty1885 12 July 2012 at 8:03 am Reply

      Blasphemy. Do not diss Rupert!

      • roxannadanna 13 July 2012 at 7:31 am Reply

        Wow. I had no idea he had such a following… Sorry to all of you.

        • nooneofanyimport 13 July 2012 at 8:36 am Reply

          Shoot, we are all entitled to our strong music opinions. I’ve probably insulted a boatload of Gwen fans, after all. ;)

  2. flyoverhere 9 July 2012 at 10:44 pm Reply

    Good luck on your transition time! I know what you mean about the wind being out of your sails…..

  3. Keith DeHavelle 10 July 2012 at 12:44 am Reply

    I confess that when I first saw your title in the email, I thought it was from the WALL•E forum site, inviting me to try more song parodies about that couple (Wall•E and “Evah!”) like this one (if you like the Eagles).

    I confess to being fond of Nimoy’s treatment of “Bitter Dregs” — and his rendition of “Cycles” is not bad. I suspect that Rupert Holmes’ song got classified as “stupid” only through tremendous repetition; he’s done several that I liked (including “Escape”) such as
    “The End” and “Answering Machine” and “Morning Man” and “Him.”

    But I am glad to hear that you’re getting situated. Don’t be too downhearted about the Supreme Court decision; we have a real change to do this through elected representation instead.

    Best wishes!

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

  4. Freedom, by the way 10 July 2012 at 11:25 am Reply

    Mr. Spock doing Proud Mary does not do him proud.
    I must confess I’m with you on Celine. I think it’s pretty good!
    Happy you found a new home! Best of luck in the coming weeks!

  5. Yos / Si Vis Pacem 10 July 2012 at 4:04 pm Reply

    It’s against my religion to watch or listen to Celine. (Not supposed to do things that make one regurgitate breakie, for example, unless under Doctors’ orders. Just sayin’.)

    Yeah, pretty much a gallery of dreck. Some other forgettables… Hmmmm…

    There’s always the number by Yoko Ono where she fakes orgasm on-mike.

    RIGHT! There’s an entire album of covers called Night Driver by a crooner called “David Driver.” Unwitting comedy gold… *if* you can keep lunch down.

  6. SDH 10 July 2012 at 6:46 pm Reply

    I probably have to go with Proud Mary with Miley a close second. I actually listen to the Los Colorados from time to time for it’s train wreck epicness.

  7. ladyliberty1885 12 July 2012 at 8:04 am Reply

    I vote Miley Cyrus worst. At least the others TRIED. lol

  8. dustbury.com » Remade in the shade 12 July 2012 at 12:35 pm Reply

    [...] frankly I’d like to hear Gwen Stefani do her best Eric Burdon some day), has announced a Worst Cover Song Evah contest. Presumed joke covers are usually too good to be the Worst, which eliminates, among others, the [...]

  9. edge of the sandbox 14 July 2012 at 1:55 am Reply

    I have to say Ozzie was the most brutalized because it’s probably the best song to start with.
    Cheers!

  10. [...] Worst Cover Song EVAH Contest [...]

  11. Wraith 22 July 2012 at 9:22 pm Reply

    C’mon, now–you can’t tell me that Disturbed’s version of “Land of Confusion” doesn’t kick Phil Collins’ ass and take his lunch money. That’s the attitude the song should have had from the start!

  12. Gatordoug 29 July 2012 at 8:43 am Reply

    Worst song ever? Well, ANY song by Anne Murray is a contender,

    • SDH 31 July 2012 at 9:50 pm Reply

      Ahhh yes…she’s horrible, and I’m from Nova Scotia.

  13. [...] a total of five votes for the winning cover.  I included votes from the first comment string, the second comment string, and also from the excellent submissions over at Dustbury. (Did you know that Rod Stewart covered [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers

