Well It Makes Sense . . .

that the perpetrator of the worst cover song ever would be an Obama Zombie.

Don’t watch it, but here it is:

When that Betty Boop abomination hit the charts, my Talk Talk CD sure came in handy.

A Great Compilation

Even brief exposure to the cover version requires a thorough cleansing of the palate:

If the live version isn’t cleansing enough, the official video is here.

I’d say “shut up about politics and just sing, Gwen Stefani,” but then she might defile another beloved band’s song.

So I’ll just say, “shut up.”

PS:  Any other covers that you think are even worse?  Tell me!  We’ll have a “Worst Cover Song Evah!” contest.

Tagged:

32 thoughts on “Well It Makes Sense . . .

  1. loopyloo305 3 July 2012 at 9:57 pm Reply

    Happy 4th, Lin, God bless you!

  2. Wayne 3 July 2012 at 10:00 pm Reply

    Rolling Stone magazine (if that bird cage liner can still be considered that) rated Miley Cyrus’ “Smells Like Teen Spirit” the worst cover ever. Ranks close to the top…if Kurt Cobain heard this, he would probably re-shoot himself.

  3. NRA 3 July 2012 at 10:14 pm Reply

    “Worst Cover Song Evah!”

    Hmmm… Tough. Perhaps Dan Hill doing “Sometimes When We Touch.” Right, he wrote the lyrics – an obnoxious pile of self-pitying drivel all by his lonesome… but the tune was by Barry Mann. So he’s covering Mann’s work in utter cr@p. Er, does that count?

    • nooneofanyimport 3 July 2012 at 10:21 pm Reply

      YES that absolutely counts. I’ll be looking that one up.

  4. neenergyobserver 4 July 2012 at 12:15 am Reply

    Nothing to add on topic but, Happy Independence Day, Lin.

  5. edge of the sandbox 4 July 2012 at 2:05 am Reply

    Happy 4th!
    I think I heard that awful cover somewhere, probably shopping at TJ’s.

  6. MK (@MarcoAlDente) 4 July 2012 at 5:31 am Reply

    I’ve got to laugh … I loved Talk Talk, still have all their albums. I’ve also never thought much of Gwen Stefani, but I’ve got to say that I really liked that cover version and compared to the sack of potatoes singing smells like teen spirit she could be considered a diva … clearly against real comparisons she isn’t anything of the sort.

  7. Ran 4 July 2012 at 7:44 am Reply

    Happy Fourth, Lin!

    May G-d Bless and Keep you, hubby and those great little Americans. Thanks and cheers!

    Ran

  8. Debbie 4 July 2012 at 8:17 am Reply

    Can’t think of any terrible covers at the moment but Gwen’s Obama support does bring to mind an old favorite by Garbage called “Stupid Girl” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBhOhZqyp_s
    Good post Linda! Happy 4th of July!

  9. P. Henry Saddleburr 4 July 2012 at 10:27 am Reply

    Happy Independence Day Lin! No contest about worst cover songs would be complete without George Burns singing the Beatles ‘With A Little Help From My Friends”

    I’m particularly fond of the part …. Would you believe in love at first sight? Yes, I’m soitan that it happens all the time….

  10. nooneofanyimport 4 July 2012 at 10:28 am Reply

    Happy 4th to all of you! So far, it appears that commenter Wayne is winning the “worst cover evah” contest . . .

    • nooneofanyimport 4 July 2012 at 10:31 am Reply

      Wait, wait, I didn’t see Mr. Saddleburr’s addition. Wow. Perhaps there is a tie now. That George Burns version is pure awfulness.

  11. AFVET 4 July 2012 at 11:48 am Reply

    Happy 4th Erma.
    I hope you are enjoying Florida.

  12. ladyliberty1885 4 July 2012 at 4:23 pm Reply

    They positively ruined that Talk Talk song.
    R U I N E D

    If you’re going to cover a song, do it well or don’t do it at all.
    That miley cover also — plain awful. As is this Disturbed cover of Genesis’s Land of Confusion

    • nooneofanyimport 4 July 2012 at 5:23 pm Reply

      oh, oh, oh, Lady Liberty that was just plain awful! I could only watch half of it. Even though the original is still a lefty protest against Reagan or whatever, it was still a great song. Oh well, at least Disturbed is a fitting name.

      If I keep getting great entries like this, I’m gonna have to get a neutral 3rd party to judge which is Worst Evah!

      • ladyliberty1885 6 July 2012 at 8:56 am Reply

        Oh do a poll! Set up all these entries and let folks vote the worst EVAH!

  13. SDH 4 July 2012 at 7:03 pm Reply

    Ooooohhh. Worst cover songs, how about Los Colorados?

    Magnificent, it is.

    Happy Independence Day, I’m praying for you guys.

  14. SDH 4 July 2012 at 7:12 pm Reply

    Leonard Nimoy sings Proud Mary

  15. SDH 4 July 2012 at 7:39 pm Reply

    At first I didn’t like this cover, but it’s really grown on me. Marcus and Jerry Douglas are awesome.

  16. SDH 7 July 2012 at 9:12 am Reply

    I see your Celene Dion, and raise you Pat Boone’s version of Crazy Train.

    Metal swing, for your mid-morning coffee.

    Boone also does a cover of Smoke on the Water, if Crazy Train leaves you unfulfilled.

  17. SDH 7 July 2012 at 8:04 pm Reply

    The most awesome cover of You Shook Me All Night Long. I love bluegrass.

  18. SDH 7 July 2012 at 8:16 pm Reply

    Bluegrass makes Smells Like Teen Spirit and Gin and Juice sound even more awesome.

    …and yes, if anyone is wondering, I’ve been setting about the yard sippin’ the best darn whisky I’ve ever tasted all afternoon. ;)

  19. SDH 7 July 2012 at 8:18 pm Reply

    Crap, too many links. Whisky should go here.

    • nooneofanyimport 8 July 2012 at 1:27 pm Reply

      LOL SDH! We love bluegrass covers, thx for sharing.

      • SDH 9 July 2012 at 8:17 pm Reply

        If I may indulge everyone with one more comment on this thread. My daughter got married last week and most of the folks from back east stayed in town for the week. Saturday was our last day together before everyone dispersed back home.

        It was quite a blow out and I was in bed by 2130 except for a brief period about 0100 when I had to tell my uncles, father and father-in-law to shut the **** up and get inside. This for some reason seemed hilarious to them. They’ve all retired within the last year or two and are vigorously embracing their second childhood (they all grew up together). I think I have the most tolerant neighbours in the world; I’ll know for sure this week if any of them are still talking to me.

        • nooneofanyimport 9 July 2012 at 8:58 pm Reply

          My hubs really enjoyed that Dixie Hayseed stuff you shared. Their version of Bohemian Rhapsody was my favorite. And LOL re your fam. I’ve got a couple in the tree like that.

  20. […] NoOneOfAnyImport: Well It Makes Sense . . . […]

  21. […] when I casually declared Gwen Stefani’s “It’s My Life” the Worse Cover Ever, clearly I spoke too […]

  22. SDH 10 July 2012 at 8:59 pm Reply

    nooneofanyimport :
    My hubs really enjoyed that Dixie Hayseed stuff you shared. Their version of Bohemian Rhapsody was my favorite. And LOL re your fam. I’ve got a couple in the tree like that.

    I try to do what little I am able to do. I’m glad to hear you guys are (soon) settling in, and once again, my thanks for keeping me and mine safe.

    I could write textbooks on my family and psychologists would spend years studying these people; I miss them already.

  23. […] counted a total of five votes for the winning cover.  I included votes from the first comment string, the second comment string, and also from the excellent submissions over at Dustbury. (Did you […]

  24. jc9pezatinfai1989 19 September 2012 at 7:38 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Lauren Briggs Blogs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers

