Offending Feminists Through Music

Participating in Stacy McCain’s fourth annual Offend A Feminist Week is both an honor and a pleasure.  I know, I know:  some folks will not find this exercise “helpful,” but let me explain why they are wrong.

Actually, let me allow Mr. McCain to explain, since he’s a man and therefore much smarter than me:

“The empowering message of feminism is that all women are victims.  Victimhood is synonymous with power. To deny women their victimhood is therefore to re-victimize and disempower them.”

Thanks so much for clearing my mind on this issue, Mr. McCain.  I was starting to wonder:  why in the world is making fun of my own gender so much fun?

It’s fun because, unlike the typical feminist of today, I’m not empowered by victimhood.  I am empowered by throwing off the shackles of political correctness.  To reject political correctness is to liberate one’s mind.  Even if it’s a feeble female mind.

Snort.

I participated last year with a post still worth a click if you didn’t back then.  Dunno if I’ll be able to wax as profoundly poetic this year, what with all the homeskooling, cooking, and house cleaning I have to do.

Sometimes, it’s hard to be a woman.

Which leads me to the musical portion of my post.  There’s something here for everyone, young and old, so just scroll down ’til you find your style.

Country?

Or good old-fashioned?  How about Andy Williams, singing a Bacharach tune to warn us ladies:

“Don’t think because there’s a ring on your finger you needn’t try anymore.  For wives should always be lovers, too.  Run to his arms the moment he comes home to you, I’m warning you . . .

Day after day, there are girls at the office, and men will always be men.  Don’t send him off with your hair still in curlers.  You may not see him again . . . .”

Speaking of classic, there is always Elvis:

If 60′s were your decade, scroll no further.  Mick Jagger will offend you now:

It’s down to me
The way she talks when she’s spoken to
Down to me, the change has come,
She’s under my thumb
Ah, take it easy babe

(Ain’t the women screaming with rapture an extra kick in the feminist pants?)

And check out this more obscure 60′s song, Be A Caveman:

Were you a teen in the ’80′s, like me?  If so, you might appreciate a little B-Boys.  This one’s dedicated to MCA:

And finally, I just heard this song on the radio yesterday, and I right like it.  Language warning, however.  Apparently, it’s a bluegrass-style cover of a rap song:

Happy Offending, everyone!

P.S.  Which song was your favorite?  Do you have one that should be added?

(Hat Tip:  I found several of these songs at drownedinsound.com.)

Cross-posted at Disrupt The Narrative

Tagged: ,

16 thoughts on “Offending Feminists Through Music

  1. AHLondon (@AHLondon_Tex) 7 May 2012 at 5:03 pm Reply

    Is it this week? I need it to be next week! I’ve only got my offending post in my head and precious little time for writing this week.

    • edge of the sandbox 8 May 2012 at 12:13 am Reply

      I have the same problem.

    • pjMom 12 May 2012 at 7:19 am Reply

      Ditto. I’m trying to write after pjKid goes to sleep while trying to find a house. Heh. Nothing like homelessness in a wicked competitive rental market to grnd your blog to a halt. It’s a good thing I’m stubborn nd suffering from pregnancy insomnia! ; )

  2. John Bradley (@bdogdesign) 7 May 2012 at 5:45 pm Reply

    Thanks for the bluegrass version of “99 Problems” — way cool.

    In a similar vein, I’ve always been partial to Ben Folds’ cover of “Bitches Ain’t Sh*t”.

  3. [...] A Very Important Blogger has a musical tribute to all the feminists out there. Here’s one selection; It’s fun because, unlike the typical feminist of today, I’m not empowered by victimhood.  I am empowered by throwing off the shackles of political correctness.  To reject political correctness is to liberate one’s mind.  Even if it’s a feeble female mind. [...]

  4. nooneofanyimport 7 May 2012 at 10:58 pm Reply

    AHLondon, terribly sorry but yes, Offend A Feminist is this week. Worry not however, because feminists are offended by opinions unlike their own all 52 weeks in the year!

    John Bradley, hallo! So glad that you happened upon my lowly blog, and that you enjoyed one of my music choices enough to comment. LOL we are huge Ben Folds fans in this household, though I hadn’t heard that one yet. Reminiscent of Richard Cheese.

  5. edge of the sandbox 8 May 2012 at 12:17 am Reply

    “Under My Thumb” is nothing compare to “Run for Your Life” by The Beatles. That song is truly sick, and not in the “happy offending” way. I guess John Lennon was a creepy individual who got a pass on misogyny for meeting his match in Yoko Ono.

    • nooneofanyimport 8 May 2012 at 9:24 am Reply

      Hmm, wow. I’ve never heard that song! I can see why it got buried and forgotten. Creepy lyrics put to a peppy beat? No thanks, only Danny Elfman really pulls that off.

  6. LWSpotts 8 May 2012 at 10:39 am Reply

    I hope I can offend with panache this week. Will do my best! Glad to have found your blog!

  7. [...] One Of Any Import, a gal who understands where her proper place is and likes it, finds a musical way to offend the Beastie Girlz out [...]

  8. [...] Offending Feminists Through Music [...]

  9. ladyliberty1885 14 May 2012 at 1:37 pm Reply

    My personal favorite, The Waitresses – I know what boys like.

  10. The Conservative Hill Billy 15 May 2012 at 1:52 am Reply

    Reblogged this on theconservativehillbilly.

  11. nooneofanyimport 15 May 2012 at 1:33 pm Reply

    Thanks for the reblog, Hill Billy, and great to meet you, Spotts. I’ll be visiting yours for sure. And ladyliberty, that is a good one, I should add the vid clip later.

  12. The Grey Lady 16 May 2012 at 12:32 pm Reply

    Oh snap I go camping with the kids and miss alll the good clean fun. I don’t think it’s an official here in Canerder eh…

    I’m kinda partial to smack your bitch up by Benga….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 658 other followers

