But I’m Already Home, John Hawkins UPDATED

Oh, okay.  I’ll bite.

The Slow, Painful Coming Death of the Independent, Conservative Blogosphere” has made quite the ripple effect on the blogosphere.  If the point of that article was to increase page views, Mr. Hawkins did a great job.

If the point was to warn folks that it’s really really hard to make some decent jack as an unknown, independent conservative blogger, then Mr. Hawkins did a great job . . . stating the obvious.

If the point was actually to convince folks like me to . . . what was it?  “Get big or go home?”  Well then.  Yah.  As if.

Who knows what the feller meant.  If you happen to stop by, Mr. Hawkins, feel free to lemme know.

Of course, the name of my blog provides a glimpse into how I feel about being the “little guy.”

If a goofy angel named Clarence ever shows me what the world would be like had I not been born, well.  I fervently hope to see the little things add up to bigger effects than I ever could have dreamed.

I was pretty much born to be a soldier in the Army of Davids.

We are a hardworking, intelligent, and underappreciated bunch in the conservative blogosphere, overall.  Some of us get overwhelmed by the sheer volume of news we try to distill.  So, it would be nicer to read encouragement, rather than “oh give up and go home.”

But okay.  Duly noted.

As the lovely Lonely Conservative said, “I guess I won’t be quitting my day job anytime soon.”

Before starting my blog, I cottoned on to the fact making it lucrative would be butt-hard and probably futile.  So I thought of it as a new hobby.

I love my new hobby.   To me, blogging is less like journalism and more like using CB radio.  We use our sites to reach out to other people.  We even have “handles.”  We’ve just replaced the radio with a laptop.

(Breaker, breaker, do you copy?  Over.)

Anyhoo, if Hawkins’ dire prediction bothered you even a little, Missy S has some sage advice on her coffee mug.

Big Fur Hat (at i Own The World) also has a brilliant idea.  Tapping into his inner George Bailey, this blogger offers to help the little guy:

“iOTW doesn’t want any conservative blogs going belly up (except maybe some annoying ones – hehe) because that isn’t going to help the overall cause of conservatism.

So, if you have your own blog, no matter how modest or large, please put a link to it in the comment section of this post. I will be maintaining this post and monitoring its progress and bumping it from time to time to the front page. I will also be going to the blogs to poach some posts to include among our daily content.”

Sweet!  Go over there and add your name to the list.  (Try not to spend too long clicking onto new blogs in the list, though.  Dinner won’t cook itself.)

Finally, I’m going to take some advice from here, and thank a blogger:

Thank you, Karen the Lonely Conservative.   You are a workhorse, and I am very appreciative of your work.  Your daily email subscription is an important part of my information gathering process.

Happy blogging, all!

UPDATE:  Do go meet the conservative blogosphere’s guardian, Zilla.  She’s got our back.

Tagged: ,

35 thoughts on “But I’m Already Home, John Hawkins UPDATED

  1. Mind-Numbed Robot 21 July 2011 at 4:51 pm Reply

    Zilla’s got a great retort over at her place also, if you haven’t seen it. Keep up the great work, Linda. Rest assured, it doesn’t go unnoticed. But then, with umpteen Instalanches, you wouldn’t let that happen, now would you? Yea I know, my envy is running. :)

    Cheers to you Ma’am!

  2. [...] Notebook.It seems like everyone is weighing in on the death of right wing blogs. Midnight Blue and No One of Any Import weighed in today.That’s it for now, it’s time for dinner. If you have an interesting [...]

  3. edge of the sandbox 21 July 2011 at 5:17 pm Reply

    Many thanks for the linkie. Happy blogging to you too!

  4. innominatus 21 July 2011 at 6:32 pm Reply

    Agreed. About all Hawkins is famous for is polling other bloggers (so they link back to him about being polled) and posting his Top 50 or Top 100 or Top Whatever Blogs lists so that the people on the list link back to him.

    Yawn.

  5. Lonely Conservative 21 July 2011 at 6:58 pm Reply

    Thank you,too! As for being a work horse, not so much this evening. Maybe I’ll find some inspiration a little later.

  6. Wraith 21 July 2011 at 9:32 pm Reply

    I love my new hobby. To me, blogging is less like journalism and more like using CB radio. We use our sites to reach out to other people. We even have “handles.” We’ve just replaced the radio with a laptop.

    Copy that, ten-roger. Just like I’ve been sayin’ for years; the internet ain’t nothin’ but a CB with a keyboard, c’mon! ;)

    • AFVET 22 July 2011 at 1:26 pm Reply

      You are a hoot Wraith.
      “copy that, ten-roger”.?
      You just exhibited your ignorance to anybody that frequents this site.
      There is nothing wrong with truck drivers.

      What’s wrong with her comment ?

      • nooneofanyimport 22 July 2011 at 2:23 pm Reply

        Uh, Ron, you may have misunderstood. Wraith is a truck driver. So I doubt he thinks anything’s wrong with that. He finds good stuff, you should go check out his blog on my roll, Weird and Pissed Off. Ifn you want me to edit your comment, just lemme know. cheers!

        • AFVET 23 July 2011 at 6:25 pm Reply

          No need I apologized.

    • AFVET 23 July 2011 at 6:21 pm Reply

      I am here to apologize to Wraith.
      OTR Truckers are hard working Americans.
      Thank you Linda for the education.
      10-4 Wraith.

  7. DH 21 July 2011 at 9:49 pm Reply

    “,,,like using CB…” So, sounds like you got a great big convoy blogging across the USA…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3VN54M1OXA

  8. zillaoftheresistance 22 July 2011 at 7:32 am Reply

    I think that blog snob Hawkins has an ulterior motive for discouraging people from blogging. Smaller independent blogs are growing in popularity because they will cover things that the big establishment (and the MSM) types won’t touch, as a result, the popularity of big establishment types is waning (like the MSM) because people will go to places where they can get what is not available elsewhere. Establishment elitists wish we would go away, because they are trying to halt their own downward spiral into irrelevancy. But Hawkins has really screwed the pooch by alienating himself from all us little nobodies who collectively provide millions of hits to the people WE choose to link to, and I know a lot of us won’t be linking to Hawkins the blog snob in the future.

  9. [...] But I’m Already Home, John Hawkins [...]

  10. [...] Oh, okay.  I'll bite. "The Slow, Painful Coming Death of the Independent, Conservative Blogosphere" has made quite the ripple effect on the blogosphere.  If the point of that article was to increase page views, Mr. Hawkins did a great job. If the point was to warn folks that it's really really hard to make some decent jack as an unknown, independent conservative blogger, then Mr. Hawkins did a great job . . . stating the obvious. If the point was … Read More [...]

  11. zillaoftheresistance 22 July 2011 at 2:38 pm Reply

    Thanks for adding the link to my post!

  12. Country Thinker 22 July 2011 at 3:35 pm Reply

    I enjoy your blog. I don’t get here as often as I’d like, but if there is any satisfaction in your thoughts and ideas having “fans,” count me in as one, and enjoy a well-earned sense of satisfaction.

  13. bobbelvedere 22 July 2011 at 7:10 pm Reply

    Damn well said.

  14. KingShamus 22 July 2011 at 8:59 pm Reply

    Here’s a toast to the Davids.

  15. CGHill 22 July 2011 at 11:04 pm Reply

    I don’t think Hawkins is guilty of snobbery so much as excessive fondness for his traffic numbers, and I suspect most of us pay a little more attention to the stats than is probably good for us. Me, I’m content with my perch on the D-list.

    • nooneofanyimport 24 July 2011 at 4:20 pm Reply

      You are right, CG. I do pay more attention to the stats then I should. The stats page can be rather addicting. This whole “Death of the Blog” conversation is a good reminder that numbers should not matter to me.

  16. [...] NoOneOfAnyImport - But I’m Already Home, John Hawkins UPDATED [...]

  17. Bob Mack 23 July 2011 at 3:43 pm Reply

    Hawkins is mistaken–10,000 voices are better than 1, no matter how loud is the one.

  18. Matt 23 July 2011 at 4:02 pm Reply

    Well done, well said, and we all try to stick together.

  19. [...] But I’m Already Home, John Hawkins UPDATED [...]

  20. Yos / Si Vis Pacem 24 July 2011 at 11:27 am Reply

    “If the point was actually to convince folks like me to . . . what was it? “Get big or go home?” Well then. Yah. As if.”

    Amen. Perfect. I did Hawkins one better, too – I ignored his ignoble BS and went back to my lonely little blog. Nary a hit he got from me. Eric Holder got the attention. It ain’t about money, or fame, or ego. It’s about reaching out to peers; It’s about ideas; It’s about the freedom to express and the corollary obligation to express. Like you say, it’s about being a soldier in the Army of Davids.

    • nooneofanyimport 24 July 2011 at 4:21 pm Reply

      You’re a stronger man than me. I tried to ignore the article . . . only to cave a few days later!

  21. [...] NoOneOfAnyImport: But I’m Already Home, John Hawkins UPDATED [...]

  22. nooneofanyimport 24 July 2011 at 4:23 pm Reply

    Matt, Macky, Shamsey, Mista Belvedere, MNR, Inno, Zilla, and everybody:

    thank you so much for your kind words and patronage.

    In the words of the Bud Light dude, I love you man!

  23. brucetheeconomist 25 July 2011 at 11:50 am Reply

    Blogging will likely never make me money. I just like keeping the mind active and meeting (virtually) interesting people.

  24. Steve 25 July 2011 at 8:22 pm Reply

    THANK YOU for posting this! I really enjoy visiting your site!!

    Steve
    Common Cents

    http://www.commoncts.blogspot.com

  25. Steve Dennis 25 July 2011 at 9:01 pm Reply

    Well, I’m never going to get big, but that isn’t the point, and I am not going to go home because I already am at home. But I am not going to go away because we all have a role to play in this. This isn’t about becoming big, it is about trying to do what is best for the country. Great post!

  26. Aewl 25 July 2011 at 11:34 pm Reply

    Boy, what timing for me to start a blog. Just a few days before j. hawkins writes his now infamous post. I say “phfttt” to him. I blog because I’m having fun with it.

  27. Lisa 27 July 2011 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Thanks for the article. Our blog is a labor of love at this point. We are still working hard to get traffic, but believe in what we are saying, so we keep going.

  28. Bob Mack 27 July 2011 at 3:05 pm Reply

    If it wasn’t for conservative bloggers, there’d be no tea party; if there was no tea party, Pelosi would still be House Speaker and America would be toast. I don’t think you guys realize just how important you are. Many readers or few, everybody’s making a difference, & you’ve all got my thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 657 other followers

