It’s Military What Day?

How is it that I am a mil spouse for twelve years and yet have no recollection of this so-called “Military Spouse Appreciation Day?

It’s embarrassing.  A crusty ol’ Navy wife finally learns of the auspicious occasion . . . by scrolling the Insty.  Is there nothing that man does not know?

And what have I been missing?  A parade?  Free dinner?

Oh.

A Presidential Proclamation.  /yawns/

Is this the first year we’ve had such a Day of Honor?  Nope:

President Ronald Reagan proclaimed the first Military Spouse Appreciation Day on May 23, 1984.  It is now celebrated each year on the Friday just prior to Mother’s Day each year. 

Okay, well then, I better wish a Happy Mil Spouse Day to all my mil spouse peeps . . . wait a minute.  I guess that would just be you, PJ Mom.

Huh.  Know what?  There is an entire subset of blogging known as mil spouse bloggers.

I had no idea.

Look:  here’s Marrying the Navy, who lives in Washington State with her aviator husband and who runs an impeccably beautiful blog. (Check out her Martha Stewart skills and color me jealous.)

There’s Milspouse Mutterings with a very sobering Military Spouse Appreciation Day post.  She also appears to have helpful support information.

I found an amiable gal named Sepsi here: And You Never Did Think.

Finally, there’s Wife of a Sailor, who has introduced me to something I like:  “You Might Be A MilSpouse If” fill-ins.  Some of my faves from her compiled list:

You might be a MilSpouse if . . .

all your kids are born in different States.

getting a power of attorney is a regular occurrence for you.

you still find colorful little moving tags on various pieces of furniture even though it’s been two years since you PCSed. Bonus points if there are multiple tags stuck atop one another.

you refer to everyone not carrying a military ID card as a civilian.

you routinely ask for a military discount because you don’t want to give California more money than it deserves.

if TMO has ever packed your trash can for a PCS with the trash still in it!  [LOL Yep, it’s happened to me.]

you have an expired Texas license, with a Florida address, and you live in North Dakota.

you answer your husband’s texts with “Roger.”

you know that a month-long separation is short, no matter what anyone says.

Good stuff.  I may try to come up with some of my own later.

5 thoughts on “It’s Military What Day?

  1. edge of the sandbox 7 May 2011 at 12:38 am Reply

    Happy Military Spouse Appreciation Day (it certainly doesn’t roll off the tongue) and many thanks for your sacrifices.

  2. Steve Dennis 7 May 2011 at 6:35 am Reply

    Sorry I am a day late, but happy MSAD.

  3. Karen Howes 7 May 2011 at 9:24 am Reply

    Uh… happy military spouse appreciation day, I guess, heh. Better wish my sister that too…

    Loved the list, btw!

  4. AFVET 7 May 2011 at 6:30 pm Reply

    Have a happy Mother’s Day Linda.
    You deserve it.

  5. pjMom 9 May 2011 at 9:14 am Reply

    ROTFL–I have a few furniture sticker mosaics. The movers were confused this last time at which color to use. We laughed in the lift line at Breckenridge this year realizing our ski poles still had two sets of stickers, too. ; )

    Though I would have to add emails from honey titled FYSA and me replying with SITREPs. ; )

    Hope you had a fabulous Mother’s Day weekend, friend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers

