Rage Is Back!

Grrrr.

Breathing deeply.  Counting backwards from ten.  I love my country.  I love my fellow Americans.  Even the ones that elected this clown-in-chief.  That’s right.  I’m violating my own rule about name-calling.

Via Instapundit comes a remarkable enough tidbit from an AP report:  “Obama needled one questioner who asked about gas prices, now averaging close to $3.70 a gallon nationwide, and suggested that the gentleman consider getting rid of his gas-guzzling vehicle.”

Does anyone out there really believe this is man feels our pain?  He is more interested in deciding what kind of car you should drive, than improving your standard of living, or, you know, actually preserving that pesky old burden of liberty that we bear.  It’s such a burden, liberty.  We don’t know what’s best for us.  Those big, bad, evil corporations are tricking us into destroying our one and only planet by allowing us to choose which of their vehicles we want to buy.

Breathing deeply.  Focusing.

The story then got a little more remarkable, because the AP article from which that quote originated was scrubbed of it.  Apparently, AP has done a substantial rewrite.  See the Prof for the full story and the screen cap.

But that’s not why I’m posting.

In addition to the screen cap, Prof. Reynolds linked to video proof of the President’s gas-guzzle statement.

And I watched it.

Now I know exactly what it takes to sweep apathy from my brain like a tidal wave sweeping the beach:  four minutes of President Obama channeling his inner Seinfeld.

Yep.  President Obama, doing his best stand-up routine.  I recommend that you do not press play:

Really.  You don’t have to watch it.  I have selflessly spared you from trauma, by meticulously transcribing the most pertinent portions (play, pause, write, repeat).

You’re welcome.

The video is from the President’s appearance at a wind turbine manufacturer on April 6th.  Two minutes in, the President starts off with a reasonable enough statement:

“What we can do is increase oil production here in the United States.  But here’s the thing about oil.  We have about 2, maybe 3% of the world’s proven oil reserves.”

Okay, fine.  I also do not like the fact that we do not produce enough oil in the States to satisfy demands.  Instead, we have to rely on countries that are most unreliable.

Next comes the Marxist tendencies.  You know, those redistributionist, mistrusting of all things corporation-y, sounds-like-its-from-the-Communist-Manifesto-type tendencies that we Tea Party folks are crazy to even point out:

“We use 25% of the world’s oil.  So . . . even if we doubled the amount of oil that we produce, we’d still be short by a factor of five.  So, we can’t just drill our way out of the problem, and that’s why the second thing we can do is increase efficiency on cars and trucks, which is where most of our oil is used.”

Do you see the logic here?  Our oil problem will be resolved only by consuming less, and nothing else.  Note how he brings up how much of the world’s oil we so hoggishly hog?  The implication here is that consuming more oil than other countries, relative to population, is a wrong in and of itself.  Unfair.

Anyway, here is the best worst bit:

“Now, I noticed some folks clapped, but I know some of these big guys, they’re still driving their big SUVs, you know, they’ve got their big monster truck and everything.  [Catches eye of person in audience.]  You are one of ‘em?  Well, now, here’s my point.  You know, if you’re complaining about the price of gas and you’re only getting 8 miles a gallon, you know . . . [chuckles] . . . well.  I, you may have a big family, but it’s probably not that big . . . [chuckles].  So, how many you have?  Ten kids you say?  Ten kids?  [Long pause with humorously shocked look on his face.]  Well, you definitely need a hybrid van then.

Grrr.  We Amurikuns R so dumb that Obama has to explain the basic economics of miles per gallon to us.  How do you like your President lecturing you in a mocking, 5th rate stand-up routine?  Feel patronized yet?

Well, I do have one bit of consolation:  Obama using a random audience member to make his point about owning bigger cars than you need?  FAIL.

UPDATE:  Ed Morrissey puts it well:  “Obama fills the role of clueless aristocrat by telling a man who explains that he can’t afford to fill his gas tank at current prices that he should instead buy a new car.”

Tagged:

40 thoughts on “Rage Is Back!

  1. heathermc 7 April 2011 at 1:28 pm Reply

    the trouble with those darned SUV gas guzzlers is that people with Children (plural) have to have one of them BECAUSE of the REGULATIONS making it necessary to have each little tot tied up in one of those car seats (which I might add, have gotten larger with each year). Nasty people, with ALL THOSE KIDS!!!

    • nooneofanyimport 8 April 2011 at 10:27 am Reply

      Good point Heather. Say, aren’t SUVs the unintended consequence of CAFE standard raising, anyway? Along with the death of the station wagon?

  2. lngreene 7 April 2011 at 3:15 pm Reply

    One stupid question I have. How does a wind turbine manufacturer help my car cost less to run? Shall I put a sail on it? A big propreller turbine thingy that will power my car? I’m so confused

    • Freedom, by the way 7 April 2011 at 6:15 pm Reply

      Oh, how I wish I had photoshop software! The visual you invoke is a scream!

    • AFVET 8 April 2011 at 10:22 pm Reply

      That’s cool, but you can’t get it under a bridge.
      I guess O will have to raise all the bridges.

  3. KingShamus 7 April 2011 at 3:51 pm Reply

    For President Peace Prize, it’s always our problem. If only everybody just stopped driving cars and took high-speed rail, or bicycled to work, it’d be double rainbow time in America.

    Our president is a delusional moron. I hope he fails. Forever.

  4. heathermc 7 April 2011 at 4:38 pm Reply

    plus, for those who love Gaia over any other ‘god’, the windmills and solar panels require rare earth metals which are currently being mined in China… like the Gaia lovers don’t love China and the Chinese very much, I guess because they are on the other side of the world… being that Gaia lovers tend to be geography illiterates on top of everything else.

  5. edgeofthesandbox 7 April 2011 at 4:59 pm Reply

    Stupid Americans with their kids causing all that global warming. Sure. Funny thing is, I’m surrounded by liberal moms who only have one child but drive an SUV. And here I am, a Republican, two children, driving sedan because it’s… cheaper!
    …I’m no expert on oil exploration and related terminology, but 2-3% of proven reserves is a tricky term. Here is wiki:
    “Proven reserves are those reserves claimed to have a reasonable certainty (normally at least 90% confidence) of being recoverable under existing economic and political conditions, with existing technology.”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oil_reserves#Proven_reserves

    Political conditions, heh? But that includes regulatory regime. It doesn’t include the oil off the coast of CA or in the Arctic, see here:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oil_reserves#Arctic_prospective_resources

    It’s like saying that we can’t have the oil Obama doesn’t want us to have.

    • nooneofanyimport 8 April 2011 at 10:30 am Reply

      Thanks Missy S. I was hoping some commenters would tie the loose end regarding the statistics Obama used. Applying that definition of “proven reserves” shows that it’s just another one of his non statements.

  6. 5etester 7 April 2011 at 5:17 pm Reply

    Glad to see the rage is back! It’s not healthy to keep it suppressed too long.

  7. Simone Benedict 7 April 2011 at 6:09 pm Reply

    Hay! I thought they all told me a big honking SUV was ‘safer.’ Wait, now it’s better if I’m driving something more gas conservative? Even if I have too many kids and I’m packing them in a lil whatever-whatever station wagon….lol.

    On a tangent, let’s address that ethanol. I’m out here in rural America. Have you seen the price of corn? Have you seen how much stinking corn farmers are planting based on the price and the amount of “subsidies” they’ll be getting? Okay, I’m viewing this with my very own eyes within feet of my backdoor. Mountains and mountains of corn over 2 stories tall. It’s flipping rotting on the ground! Last week they burned the rotting corn! Do you know the stench that creates? I won’t deny I’m raging over it. I’d never, never let some food product in my house rot like that. Let alone hundreds of bushels of it! Aaargh. If they aren’t gonna turn it into ethanol then give it to some starving people wanting a corn muffin, seriously.

    • nooneofanyimport 8 April 2011 at 10:32 am Reply

      My heart goes out to you, having to see and smell the stench of government waste first hand, Simone. sheesh!

  8. Freedom, by the way 7 April 2011 at 6:17 pm Reply

    Great post, no one! It’s amazing how our prez lies so easily. 3% of the world’s oil. What 1958 textbook is he readin?

    • nooneofanyimport 8 April 2011 at 10:32 am Reply

      Thanks, Freedom! Flatter will get you everywhere in these parts.

    • AFVET 8 April 2011 at 10:26 pm Reply

      Freedom, is it a lie if you believe it ?
      I don’t think he knows any better.

  9. Karen Howes 7 April 2011 at 7:48 pm Reply

    What a clueless, useless, immature moron we elected. Well, actually, I can take pride in proclaiming that I did NOT vote for him. And that I will vote for my dog before I ever would.

    • Country Thinker 8 April 2011 at 10:23 am Reply

      It’s funny you mentioned the dog, because I once quipped to a friend that I would vote for a chipmunk before Obama, because a chipmunk couldn’t sign all the ridiculous legislation bearing his signature!

  10. Citizen Tom 7 April 2011 at 8:58 pm Reply

    Our president is so inspiring — to a Tea Party.

  11. brucetheeconomist 7 April 2011 at 11:50 pm Reply

    For anyone who’s interested:

    https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2178rank.html

    We have a lot of coal, and an increasing amount of natural gas.

    • nooneofanyimport 8 April 2011 at 10:34 am Reply

      THANK you Bruce. Like I said to Missy, I was hoping somebody would pick up on that dubious statistic Obama trotted out. Even if it is somewhat accurate, it is certainly too simplistic, huh?

  12. Steve Dennis 8 April 2011 at 5:38 am Reply

    Welcome back to the world of rage! It was only a matter of time before he said or did something to bring you back. :) This man honestly feels that the government should dictate what our habits are and how we should live. Instead of trying to solve the problem he is chiding Americans for being the problem.

  13. Freedom, by the way 8 April 2011 at 5:59 am Reply

    Had to revisit because I just saw a 20-second clip on the morning news from the above video and my ire jusr re-ignated. (Who needs coffee to get fired up in the morning when you can just listen to our clueless prez?) I don’t drive an SUV (my husband does) but we’re doing our best to keep our old cars running because it’s been great not having a car payment for the last several years. How dare he suggest people fight rising gas prices by purchasing a new vehicle? Any new car is a big expense, but the hybrids? Boy, you’re talking a chunk of money. Let me see, I’m paying about $25-$30 more to fill up my tank than I was a year ago. Even if I filled up once a week (I can usually go a bit longer) That would only be at tops $120 a month. Show me a hybrid that I can purchase (no matter the down payment or trade-in) and get a car payment of $120 a month! What an idiot! And let’s not forget because of the banking bailouts/new credit regulations, courtesy of our federal government, lenders are making it very difficult for a lot of folks to get a loan at a decent rate, or get a loan at all.
    Bruce, you are correct that our country has plenty of untapped energy resources. I wrote a post about all of our energy preserves a few months ago http://freedombytheway.com/2011/01/29/egypt-crisis-oil-drilling-for-freedom/
    (my apologies for the shameless self-promotion, no one–just easier than cut-n-paste). We have TRILLIONS of barrels of oil and natural gas waiting for extraction.
    I truly believe God blessed America in many, many ways. And one of the ways we are blessed is with oil, coal and natural gas. Really–what else are they good for? You can’t eat them. NOT using these energy resources while Americans suffer with rising energy costs and our economy is in a tail spin is the worst form of waste. I’m reminded of the genius on “Good Will Hunting” who labored as a janitor and a common laborer in a rock quarry (in the beginning of the movie, anyway). It’s WRONG to ignore your blessings and not use them to the fullest potential. Especially when so many folks are suffering financially, our economy is busted, and we’re unnecessarily reliant upon many unscrupulous nations for our energy needs.

    • nooneofanyimport 8 April 2011 at 10:36 am Reply

      Excellent rant, I am glad you came back. And do not apologize to linking to yourself. I do it too–it’s simply easier than saying it all over again.

      And if we didn’t self-promote, no one would know we were here.

  14. Always On Watch 8 April 2011 at 8:10 am Reply


    “Obama needled one questioner who asked about gas prices, now averaging close to $3.70 a gallon nationwide, and suggested that the gentleman consider getting rid of his gas-guzzling vehicle.”

    Obama’s arrogance and elitism absolutely infuriate me.

    Of course, he believes that he’s right to be arrogant and elitist; therefore, he tells everyone else to tighten their belts, but he goes on his merry way, convinced of his own entitlements.

  15. Country Thinker 8 April 2011 at 10:31 am Reply

    I drive a pickup because I haul stuff, like firewood that I burn in a woodburner for which I received a $500 tax credit because wood is a “renewable” form of energy. I’m trying to picture how many trips it would take to move a cord of split oak in a Prius. I’m thinking the hamsters under the hood would get pretty tired.

    • nooneofanyimport 8 April 2011 at 10:38 am Reply

      LOL! You bring up a good point. The smaller our vehicles get, then the more of them we have to use to transport things and people. For example, I don’t need all the seats in my minivan for a family of four, but if I am babysitting my friend’s three kids then I do. And we carpool all the time instead of driving separate.

  16. bob 8 April 2011 at 1:37 pm Reply

    Øbama’s scorn for people with large families was the thing that irritated me most. Anyone who has the stomach for it can watch the entire event on YouTube, and see the scumbag-in-chief making tasteless snarky remarks about people who have more children then he considers acceptable. My loathing for this worthless, arrogant, incompetent jerk increases every time I am forced to watch or listen to him.

  17. [...] Grrrr. Breathing deeply.  Counting backwards from ten.  I love my country.  I love my fellow Americans.  Even the ones that elected this clown-in-chief.  That's right.  I'm violating my own rule about name-calling. Via Instapundit comes a remarkable enough tidbit from an AP report:  “Obama needled one questioner who asked about gas prices, now averaging close to $3.70 a gallon nationwide, and suggested that the gentleman consider getting rid of h … Read More [...]

  18. Matt 8 April 2011 at 9:42 pm Reply

    Great rant, and welcome back to the dark side. :D

    Obama’s dismissive tone shows exactly how the elitists think. They have little grasp of reality, yet they KNOW they do. Then, the rest of us are the rabble, that has to be guided (read: nudged) into doing what they elitists KNOW is good for us.

  19. AFVET 8 April 2011 at 10:36 pm Reply

    O doesn’t really give a crap what we drive, or for that matter, what the price of gas is.
    Hell,….he’s got a 747 ! That we pay for !

  20. roxannadanna 9 April 2011 at 12:25 am Reply

    I so don’t want to be a year older but 2012 can’t come soon enough!!!!!

    This guy has got to go!

  21. samiam60 9 April 2011 at 9:30 am Reply

  22. heathermc 9 April 2011 at 1:19 pm Reply

    Obama and his supporters are such incredible hypocrites. While he carries on about ‘clean’ energy and ‘energy independence’, guess what? You need rare earth minerals to make all those wind farms. Mining rare earth minerals is VERY nasty. But China, which CONTROLS MOST OF THE EARTH’S RARE EARTH MINERALS, is destroying a large part of northern China in order to mine these items. Not to mention the terrible health problems … the British Daily Mail has the story:

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/article-1350811/In-China-true-cost-Britains-clean-green-wind-power-experiment-Pollution-disastrous-scale.html#ixzz1HD5stzPg

    I read somewhere that it is a blessing that Japan doesn’t have huge numbers of windmill farms: the consequent rampage of truly obnoxious rare earth stuff might even disturb Barbara Boxer!

    • Country Thinker 9 April 2011 at 5:41 pm Reply

      And we have to borrow from China to subsidize the vehicles so we can afford the batteries to run the vehicles that use the rare earth metals! Even if our oil usage is a national security problem, adding foreign-funded debt to get off of oil is even more so…

  23. brucetheeconomist 9 April 2011 at 7:52 pm Reply

    heathermc, may I ask what the rare earth is used for??? I’ve never heard of this.

  24. heathermc 9 April 2011 at 8:11 pm Reply

    Rare Earth elements have names like scandium and cerium. If you go to
    wikipedia, rare earth elements, there is a list of these 17 elements, and their uses:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rare_earth_element

    The elements are not ‘rare’ but the MINERALS are scattered about, and it seems only in mineable amounts in China, Chile and Bolivia. There is some exploration for these in North America, and I have heard there is a mine up in northern Canada. There is an article talking about this rarity, at http://www.bnet.com/blog/electric-cars/forget-lithium-8212-it-8217s-rare-earth-minerals-that-are-in-short-supply-for-evs/1814.

    Anyway, that article from Britain ENRAGES me! Talk about Marie Antoinette time. Obama and his cohorts say we should purchase government OK’ed cute little Prius’s and solar panels at the cost of those ‘shmucks’ on the other, poorer, side of the world. But then, those shmucks are expendable as far as their polity is concerned. This is why I am so anti-”green”: the ‘green’ solutions all really depend upon Third World misery. I so wish Obama is voted out in 2012, so I don’t have to watch his sneering at people like me.

  25. [...] ENERGY STARVATION PLANCongress Strikes Deal, Shutdown Averted (Updated)Some Sloppy HousekeepingRage Is Back!Savory SchadenfruedeBECK PREDICTS “CRAP”Arrogance and the LeftWe’re Going To Pay [...]

  26. [...]  And we know that the Obama administration’s answer is for Americans to drive less and purchase a fuel-efficient car. For more on that, read No One of Any Import’s post, Rage is Back. [...]

  27. [...] NoOneofAnyImport – Rage is back! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 657 other followers

